For more information on partnering with the NTHL please contact us.

Pour plus d'informations sur le partenariat avec le NTHL, veuillez nous contacter.

Montreal Classic

Tournament organizer: Carlo Bossio
Tournament: MTL Classic
City: Montreal, Quebec
Year started: 2005

Tournament history: The first ever MTL Classic was held as part of a sanctioned CCTHF event back in 2005. The organizer had been away from table since 1997 when all of a sudden he heard of Burt Brassard and company so he decided along with Martin Labelle and Denis Begin to start a table hockey tour, thus needing a Montreal stop. That's how the birth of the MTL Classic occurred. In 2006 the tour changed names to become HTQ which now as grown to become the NTHL. For the first year 32 participants took part in the event with the record of participants being 55 in 2007. Fun facts: The first MTL Classic was won by Gino Bossio. After loosing game 3 of the semi finals against his brother Carlo by a score of 9-0 to go down 2-1 in this best of 5 series he proceeded to say, "its going be funny when I come back to win the next 2 games!" That's exactly what he did by winning 3-2 and 3-1 and finally going on to beat Martin Labelle in the finals. No one other than a Bossio has ever won the MTL Classic. Carlo holding 8 titles to Gino's 4. Carlo has 12 podium finishes in 12 MTL Classics. Eight wins, 1 second place, and three 3rd places. The closest anyone has come to winning other than a Bossio was Patrick Cote in 2007. Carlo was facing elimination. Pat scored with 27 seconds left to take a 5-4 lead only to see it evaporate into a 7-5 deficit 9 seconds later! He went on to lose that game and eventually the series. Even closer than that was the 2013 edition. Gino and Sam went head to head in game 5 of their best of 5 series final. With the game tied at 3 a piece Sam scored a late goal with only 19 seconds left to take a 4-3 lead. Everyone thought this was finally it, the Bossio's reign was over. Drama occurred when Gino tied it with a quick wrap around goal from the left wing to center with only 6 seconds left! He went on to score an identical goal early in OT to take it home, WOW!!!!

Past winners 1-2-3:
2019: Carlo Bossio, Partick Côté, Andre Pigeon
2018: Carlo Bossio, Partick Côté, Andre Pigeon
2017: Carlo Bossio, Eric Larochelle, Angelo Follano
2016: Carlo Bossio, Partick Côté, Angelo Follano
2015: Gino Bossio, Carlo Bossio, Andre Pigeon
2014: Carlo Bossio, Sam Anoussis, Gino Bossio
2013: Gino Bossio, Sam Anoussis, Carlo Bossio
2012b: Carlo Bossio, Sam Anoussis, Alex Anoussis
2012a: Carlo Bossio, Partick Côté, Gino Bossio
2011: Carlo Bossio, Dany Leclerc, Patrick Côté
2010: Gino Bossio, Patrick Côté, Carlo Bossio
2009: Carlo Bossio, Sam Anoussis, Gino Bossio
2008: Carlo Bossio, Dany Leclerc, Martin Labelle
2007: Carlo Bossio, Patrick Côté, Greg Peden
2006: Carlo Bossio, Angelo Follano, Patrick Côté
2005: Gino Bossio, Martin Labelle, Carlo Bossio